Mageling FAQ
Rules
Q: Why are there two sizes of mana crystals?
A: The smaller mana crystals are worth 1 mana each, while the larger mana crystals are worth 5 mana each.
Q: How many mana crystals and spawn tokens do players start with in Co-op Mode?
Each player starts the game with 4 mana crystals. In Legendary Mode players begin the game with 1 additional mana crystal and 1 additional spawn token.
Q: Can you activate a scroll outside of your Grimoire?
A: No, you may only activate scrolls within your own Grimoire.
Q: How do I defeat locations?
A: Spend energy and mana equal to your location's cost, then activate the location's defeat effect. After defeating a location move your standee to the next location. If the next location has not been revealed, flip it over to reveal it before placing your standee onto it.
Q: When I declare a focus, do I actually need to put a die in the Focus section of my Spirit Crystal, or can I just declare what school of magic I am focusing without placing a die?
A: To focus a school of magic you must place a die into the Focus section of your Spirit Crystal. The die that you place determines what school of magic you are focused to. If the die placed is set to 'finesse', you gain energy from it, but are not considered to be focused to a school of magic.
Q: Can scrolls be activated more than once?
A: No, once a scroll has been activated it cannot be activated again until your next turn.
Q: Can you activate scrolls that are not in your Grimoire?
A: No, only scrolls that you have acquired into your Grimoire on a previous turn can be activated.
Q: Can you activate more than one focused spirit in the Nexus?
A: Yes, activating a focused spirit in the Nexus is an action performed during the Action Phase. All actions that occur during the Action Phase can be performed any number of times, so long as you have the required resources to perform them.
Q: Do spawns affect you as soon as you get them?
A: Yes, spawns go into play immediately.
Q: Can you discard spawns and complete a location on the same turn?
A: Yes. Discarding spawns and defeating locations are both actions taken during your action phase. All actions taken during your action phase can be completed any number of times in any order.
Q: I would like a more detailed description of how the Keep works. (Co-op Mode)
A: Your Keep represents the knowledge that your character discovers during each of the campaign's chapters. At the end of the game if you successfully complete the chapter, each player draws 3 cards from the Nexus deck and chooses one card to add to their Keep. This becomes a special card that only your character can access. This card will be placed face down in your area at the start of each game for the rest of the campaign. If the card in your Keep is a scroll, you can buy it exactly as if it were in the Nexus. Similarly if the card you chose was a spirit, you can activate it exactly as if it were in the Nexus. This means that if you have a spirit in your Keep and you are focused to its rune, you may activate its effect and it discard it into the discard pile. Cards from your keep that are discarded over the course of a game are returned to your Keep during your next game of the campaign. Other players may not interact with the cards in your Keep. Over the course of the campaign your character will acquire a total of 4 cards into your Keep. This allows players to build up recurring strategies throughout the campaign.
Q: Do you shuffle the Nexus deck before drawing cards to add to your keep?
A: No, you draw cards from the remaining cards in your Nexus Deck.
A: The smaller mana crystals are worth 1 mana each, while the larger mana crystals are worth 5 mana each.
Q: How many mana crystals and spawn tokens do players start with in Co-op Mode?
Each player starts the game with 4 mana crystals. In Legendary Mode players begin the game with 1 additional mana crystal and 1 additional spawn token.
Q: Can you activate a scroll outside of your Grimoire?
A: No, you may only activate scrolls within your own Grimoire.
Q: How do I defeat locations?
A: Spend energy and mana equal to your location's cost, then activate the location's defeat effect. After defeating a location move your standee to the next location. If the next location has not been revealed, flip it over to reveal it before placing your standee onto it.
Q: When I declare a focus, do I actually need to put a die in the Focus section of my Spirit Crystal, or can I just declare what school of magic I am focusing without placing a die?
A: To focus a school of magic you must place a die into the Focus section of your Spirit Crystal. The die that you place determines what school of magic you are focused to. If the die placed is set to 'finesse', you gain energy from it, but are not considered to be focused to a school of magic.
Q: Can scrolls be activated more than once?
A: No, once a scroll has been activated it cannot be activated again until your next turn.
Q: Can you activate scrolls that are not in your Grimoire?
A: No, only scrolls that you have acquired into your Grimoire on a previous turn can be activated.
Q: Can you activate more than one focused spirit in the Nexus?
A: Yes, activating a focused spirit in the Nexus is an action performed during the Action Phase. All actions that occur during the Action Phase can be performed any number of times, so long as you have the required resources to perform them.
Q: Do spawns affect you as soon as you get them?
A: Yes, spawns go into play immediately.
Q: Can you discard spawns and complete a location on the same turn?
A: Yes. Discarding spawns and defeating locations are both actions taken during your action phase. All actions taken during your action phase can be completed any number of times in any order.
Q: I would like a more detailed description of how the Keep works. (Co-op Mode)
A: Your Keep represents the knowledge that your character discovers during each of the campaign's chapters. At the end of the game if you successfully complete the chapter, each player draws 3 cards from the Nexus deck and chooses one card to add to their Keep. This becomes a special card that only your character can access. This card will be placed face down in your area at the start of each game for the rest of the campaign. If the card in your Keep is a scroll, you can buy it exactly as if it were in the Nexus. Similarly if the card you chose was a spirit, you can activate it exactly as if it were in the Nexus. This means that if you have a spirit in your Keep and you are focused to its rune, you may activate its effect and it discard it into the discard pile. Cards from your keep that are discarded over the course of a game are returned to your Keep during your next game of the campaign. Other players may not interact with the cards in your Keep. Over the course of the campaign your character will acquire a total of 4 cards into your Keep. This allows players to build up recurring strategies throughout the campaign.
Q: Do you shuffle the Nexus deck before drawing cards to add to your keep?
A: No, you draw cards from the remaining cards in your Nexus Deck.
Errata
Mageling contains 3 cards with errata (listed below). Replacements for these cards are found in the standard retail and Kickstarter versions. However if you have received a pre-release copy of Mageling you will need to e-mail your mailing address to info@familiargames.net with 'Replacement Cards' in the header to get your replacement cards free of charge.
Bolt
The keyword "Local" should say "Defeat".
Storm Demons
The Defeat effect reads "Gain 1 mana +1 for each player with fewer scrolls than you."
The Defeat effect should read "Gain 1 mana +1 for each player with more scrolls than you."
Mycomorphs
The Local effect reads "Dream Scrolls cost 1 less."
The Local effect should read "Animate to buy a Dream scroll for 2 less."
Bolt
The keyword "Local" should say "Defeat".
Storm Demons
The Defeat effect reads "Gain 1 mana +1 for each player with fewer scrolls than you."
The Defeat effect should read "Gain 1 mana +1 for each player with more scrolls than you."
Mycomorphs
The Local effect reads "Dream Scrolls cost 1 less."
The Local effect should read "Animate to buy a Dream scroll for 2 less."